You can delete your instance when you no longer need it. This is referred to as terminating your instance. As soon as the state of an instance changes to shutting-down or terminated , you stop incurring charges for that instance. You can't connect to or start an instance after you've terminated it. However, you can launch additional instances using the same AMI.
Deleting an Environment with the console
You can stop and start your instance if it has an Amazon EBS volume as its root device. The instance retains its instance ID, but can change as described in the Overview section. When you stop an instance, we shut it down. We don't charge usage for a stopped instance, or data transfer fees, but we do charge for the storage for any Amazon EBS volumes.
What happens when you terminate an instance
Amazon Lightsail is a virtual private server VPS and is the easiest way to get started with AWS for developers, small businesses, students, and other users who need a solution to build and host their applications on cloud. Lightsail provides developers compute, storage, and networking capacity and capabilities to deploy and manage websites and web applications in the cloud. Lightsail includes everything you need to launch your project quickly — virtual machines, containers, databases, CDN, load balancers, DNS management etc. A virtual private server or VPS is a popular platform to host websites and web applications. It provides users with private, virtual servers and cloud services at an affordable, cheap price. VPS hosting allows users to run websites and web applications in a highly secure and available environment, while being cost effective. There are many benefits to using a virtual private server. A few benefits include: affordability, scalability, security, and customizable resources. You can get preconfigured VPS plans that include everything to easily deploy and manage your application. Lightsail is best suited to projects that require a few virtual private servers and users who prefer a simple management interface.
To prevent any ongoing charges to your AWS account related to an AWS Cloud9 development environment that you're no longer using, you should delete the environment. Deleting an Environment with the Console. Deleting an Environment with Code. When you delete an environment, AWS Cloud9 deletes the environment permanently. This includes permanently deleting all related settings, user data, and uncommitted code. Deleted environments can't be recovered. If you're a student in a classroom, ask your instructor for sign-in instructions.